IRT All-Star The Way Of The Horse

Competition Banner Photo

The Challenge

The IRT Way Of The Horse (TWOTH) is EQUITANA Melbourne's prestigious Australian Horsemanship Challenge which is a young horse “starting” contest that is unique in this country.


This year to celebrate EQUITANA's 20th year we are running an All-Star TWOTH. All trainers this year are previous winners of the competition.

Tui Teka (2017 Champion), Bruce O'Dell (2014 Champion), Ken Faulkner (2012 Champion) and Adam Sutton (2010 Champion) will all return to put their methods to the ultimate test against the best of the best.

During the challenge, four of EQUITANA’s leading horse trainers demonstrate their highly personal and specialised methods of connecting with an unbroken horse.

Additional Photo

In this electrifying horsemanship contest, the action begins right from the start. After choosing their young, unstarted horse from a selection trucked directly from the paddock to the venue, the four trainers work simultaneously in separate round pens, giving the public a unique opportunity to compare starting methods and training styles. Contestants are judged by a respected panel of Equestrians, who award individual points for techniques used to determine the winner.

TWOTH was initiated in 2005 by EQUITANA Australia, as a way to showcase a kinder and more caring way to start a young horse, so that it becomes a willing and happy riding partner. The trainers chosen for challenge have the same ethos.


Aqualuma Grand Pavilion
2:00pm TWOTH Horse Selections
Thursday 3:15pm TWOTH Challenge I

Aqualuma Grand Pavilion
Friday 3:45pm
TWOTH Challenge II

Aqualuma Grand Pavilion
Saturday 12:45pm
TWOTH Challenge III

Aqualuma Grand Pavilion
Sunday 4:00pm

Previous Winners & Contestants

2017 Champion - Tui Teka (Contestants: Emily Weibel, Sharna Little, Brett Davey)

2016 Champion - Daniel Robinson (Contestants: Damian Hall, Mitchell Gollan)

2014 Champion - Bruce O'Dell (Contestants: Bianca Gillanders, Kane Lamperd)

2012 Champion – Ken Faulkner (Contestants: Paul Clarkson, Naish Hogan)

2011 Champion - Greg Powell (Contestants: Dan Maloney, David Manchon)

2010 Champion - Adam Sutton (Contestants: Steve Halfpenny, Chad Brady)

2008 Champion - Dan James (Contestants: Warwick McLean, Shane Ransley)

2005 Champion - Guy McLean (Contestants: David Simons, Janette Wilson)